Online Forum: June 7, 2011 :: 15:00 - 18:00 GMT
A New Strategy for European Intellectual Property Rights

A New Strategy for European Intellectual Property Rights

A New Strategy for European Intellectual Property Rights

.
On Tuesday 7th June (GMT 15:00- see times below), Talkstandards will host an online discussion related to the upcoming proposal for a European intellectual property rights strategy, which was released on the 24th of May 2011.
.
The Report can be found here:
.
ec.europa.eu/internal_market/copyright/…
…docs/ipr_strategy/COM_2011_287_en.pdf

.
Press Release:
.
http://europa.eu/rapid/pressReleasesAction.do?…
…reference=IP/11/630&format=HTML&aged=0&…
…language=EN&guiLanguage=en

.
The event will feature a series of guest contributors including the following:

• Meir Pugatch (Stockholm Network)

• Ajit Jaokar (Futuretext)

• Knut Blind (TU-Berlin)

• George Willingmyre (GTW associates)

.

Following publication, the upcoming strategy will be circulated and linked to here. It is this publication which the guest authors will comment upon, and these comments upon which the online discussion will build.

.

Format: At the event’s commencement (see above) the keynote contributions will be published. It is upon these articles that the written discussion will form. The event is the coming together of experts to foster a live discussion in an online, free and international environment. Please leave any questions/comments at the end of each article to take part in the discussion.
.

• GMT 15:00
• Europe: CET 17:00 / London 16:00
• US: Eastern 11:00 / Pacific 08:00
• Beijing 23:00
• Sydney 01:00 (8th June)

.

For further information please contact Junior Editor Peter Gray (email).

 

recent ARTICLES

A “Single Market for Intellectual Property Rights” in a Global world of standards and competition policies

Posted By George Willingmyre on June 7th, 2011

The IPR Strategy recognizes explicitly that IPRs create a host of ways for innovators to extract value and reward, and that each is valid. It recognize...

A Single Market for IPR – Necessary, but not Comprehensive Enough to Boost Innovation and Growth in Europe

Posted By Knut Blind on June 7th, 2011

The Communication of the European Commission about a “Single Market for Intellectual Property Rights” provides a comprehensive approach of initiati...

Putting Knowledge into Practice

Posted By Meir Pugatch on June 7th, 2011

Most European-based institutions – not least the European Commission – consider IPRs to be an important aspect (among other issues) in the EU’s a...

Upcoming: Balancing Antitrust and IPR Protection in EU Legislation

Posted By Talkstandards on June 7th, 2011

The IPR Strategy recognizes explicitly that IPRs create a host of ways for innovators to extract value and reward, and that each is valid. It recognize...

Upcoming: A Single Market for IPR – Necessary, but not comprehensive enough

Posted By Talkstandards on June 7th, 2011

The Communication of the European Commission about a “Single Market for Intellectual Property Rights” provides a comprehensive approach of initiati...

Upcoming: Putting Knowledge into Practice

Posted By Talkstandards on June 6th, 2011

Most European-based institutions – not least the European Commission – consider IPRs to be an important aspect (among other issues) in the EU’s a...
recent COMMENTS



An active online community where developers, researchers, policymakers and other interested parties can share ideas and collaborate on the global standards system.